What is considered a misdemeanor in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania recognizes three different degrees of misdemeanors. While a first-degree misdemeanor (M1) is the most severe misdemeanor, a third-degree misdemeanor (M3) is the least severe charge in this category.
Examples of misdemeanor offenses include:
- Access device fraud
- Criminal trespass
- Endangering a child’s welfare
- Identity theft less than $2,000
- Indecent exposure with persons under age 16 present
- Involuntary manslaughter
- Patronizing prostitutes (4th offense)
- Possession of a weapon on school property
- Prostitution (fourth or subsequent offense)
- Retail theft between $250 and $999.99
- Sexual extortion
- Simple assault against a child under 12 by a person 18 years or older
- Tampering with records
- Terroristic threats
- Theft valued over $200
- Trademark counterfeiting
- Unlawful dissemination of a minor’s intimate image
- Unlicensed firearm carry
What are the penalties for a misdemeanor in Pennsylvania?
Penalties for a misdemeanor vary based on the degree of the offense. The maximum penalty for this conviction is five years in prison and/or up to $10,000 in fines.